

BUSINESS MEETING Board of Trustees

Thursday, Feb. 27, 2025 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. MDT Yalich Boardroom, Spencer Center

Trustees Present: Ed Bowditch, Susie Burghart, Heather Carroll, ,Lilly Chen, Carolyn Cullen, Jerome DeHerrera, Eric Duran, Frieda Ekotto, Jane Franke, Ryan Haygood, Jen Hoglin, Jeff Keller, Amy Louis, So Yong Park, Liza Malott Pohle, Dan Porterfield, Kyle Samuel, Mike Slade, John Troubh, Lauren Watel, Manya Whitaker, Chester White, and Alan Woo.

Staff Present: Johanna Blickenstaff, Molly Bodnar, Tony Cabasco, Pedro de Araujo, Khaleel Gathers, Samilja Heim, Monica Indrebo, Lesley Irvine, Lacy Karpilo, Caryn Lawler, Beth Malmskog, Rosalie Rodriguez, Lori Seager and Ryan Simmons.

MINUTES

I. Jeff Keller Welcome and Introductory Remarks..... Approval a. Approval of the Minutes from November 1, 2024 Board Chair Keller called the Business Meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. MT. Board member Duran motioned for approval of the minutes from Nov. 1, 2024, Board member Slade seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. II. Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) Chair Report...... Beth Malmskog Information FEC Chair Malmskog thanked the Board for their work. Chair Malmskog highlighted work of the FEC including the Building Bridges Program that connects staff and faculty, sharing the pilot had a great turn out and the program will continue through the next three semesters. Chair Malmskog reported faculty are interested in helping with the Presidential Search and would like more updates on the process when available. Additionally, the faculty would like to enhance their relationship with the Board and will continue to invite the Board Officers to FEC meetings. Chair Malmskog shared notes on faculty climate and concerns facing higher education institutions. The Board discussed areas of concern. The Board thanked Chair Malmskog and the FEC for their work. III. Board Chair Report..... Jeff Keller Information Chair Keller thanked staff and faculty for their support. Chair Keller shared updates since the last Board meeting in November 2024. IV. Investment Committee..... John Troubh Information a. No oral report, the committee will convene Friday, Feb. 28, 2025. b. Budget & Finance Committee...... Lauren Watel Approval

ACTION ITEM: Comprehensive Fee Approval

Committee Chair Watel shared updates from the committee and reviewed the data and findings of the recommended comprehensive fee increase. The committee recommended the adoption of the comprehensive fee for Board approval. The motion passed unanimously with all in favor.

ACTION ITEM: Designation of Pollack Unrestricted Gift

Committee Chair Watel reported on an estate gift from Nancy Pollock '47 requiring Board approval. Because Advancement inquiry determined that Pollock had an affinity for science, the committee recommended the gift be designated to the new science building fund. Board member Duran motioned for approval, Board member Carroll seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

c. Audit Subcommittee...... Chester White Approval

ACTION ITEM: Audit & Tax Service Contract Recommendation

Committee Chair White shared updates and findings from the subcommittee. The subcommittee recommended for Board approval a contract for Audit & Tax Services with Moss Adams. Board member Slade motioned for approval, Board member DeHerrera seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

d. Buildings, Grounds and Infrastructure Committee...... Amy Louis Information

Chair Louis shared updates on the committee's work which included updating the committee charter, energy and water utilization report for 2024, and progress on the new science building project. The Board discussed student residential experiences and issues. Committee Chair Louis shared plans for building maintenance for the summer of 2025. Committee Chair Louis requested Board members join the Science Building Committee. Board member DeHerrera volunteered to join the committee, in addition to Board members White and Ellis.

ACTION ITEM: New Charter Trustee Recommendations

Chair Samuel thanked the Governance committee for their work. Chair Samuel reviewed the Charter Trustee terms that expire or are up for renewal in the next few years and noted there are several. Consequently, the committee is recommending a large slate of Trustee candidates for Board approval. Board member Park motioned for approval; Board Chair Keller seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. Board Chair Keller thanked the committee for their work.

f. Special Nominating Committee...... Carolyn Cullen Approval

ACTION ITEM: Board Officer Slate Recommendation

Committee Chair Cullen thanked the committee and reviewed the nominating process for Board Officers. The committee recommended the Board Officer Slate as follows: Kyle Samuel for Board Chair, Amy Louis for Vice Chair, and Laurent Watel for Secretary. Board Chair Keller motioned for approval; Board member Park seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Student Success CommitteeChair Hastings highlighted past meeting topics and reminded Trustees that Student Success

Committee meetings are open to the full Board.

V. Board Business..... Jeff Keller Approval

a. ACTION ITEM: Faculty Tenure Track Promotions

Dean of the Faculty, Emily Chan, recommended eight Assistant Professors for tenure and promotion to the rank of Associate Professor. The recommendation was motioned and seconded for approval. The motion passed unanimously.

b. ACTION ITEM: Emeritus Status Honorary Designations

Dean Chan recommended awarding emeritus status to five faculty members who will retire from Colorado College at the end of academic year 2024-25. The recommendation was motioned and seconded for approval. The motion passed unanimously.

c. ACTION ITEM: Honorary Degree Nominations

The Board reviewed four nominations for Honorary Degrees to be conferred at CC's spring 2025 commencement and voted on each individually. All nominations were approved unanimously.

d. Commencement Speaker

Interim President Whitaker announced the Commencement Speaker for 2025 as Colorado College alum Mike Shum '07, an award-winning, independent filmmaker.

VII. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 5:27 p.m. MT.